Team Gale!

Tesla Jane Muller
4 min readMay 4, 2020

--

I am a 100% Gale fan. Gale has almost always been there for Katniss when she needs help and has almost always stood by her even when he disagrees. Peeta is kind and selfless, and I really do think he’s a good person, but I am definitely not the biggest fan of the baker’s boy. I think both of these men are kind and would take good care of Katniss, and I completely understand that for Katniss what she needed was someone who understood what she’d been through and Peeta could give that to her, but that doesn’t mean that I am not fully sympathetic to one of my favorite characters: Gale.

I do not find it very fair the Katniss, after years of friendship and sometimes even more, she all of a sudden has the right to just make him leave and decide they can never see each other again. *Spoilers ahead.* I also understand that although a bomb that Gale helped to create killed Prim, Katniss didn’t want to see him anymore, but I still think it’s a bit unreasonable. I mean, don’t forget that Gale also helped to keep Prim and their mother alive while Katniss was off kissing Peeta. Without Gale, Katniss’s family could have been dead in the first book and I’m not only talking about when Katniss was in the Hunger Games. Gale also helped Katniss to learn to catch food in traps and also helped provide food for not only the viktors family but also along with him, his mom, and his 3 younger siblings. So I get that Katniss didn’t want to see the guy that “killed her sister”, but he also was keeping them alive for years on end.

Furthermore, Gale was trying to help save Katniss and the others, it was a complete accident that Prim got killed. They had been planning for the bombing to happen and it was meant for the Capitol to help the rebels, and Prim just happened to be there. It’s not like Gale personally helped murder Primrose, just something that he helped design did.

I think that her and Gale should have come to an understanding about not seeing each other anymore, she didn’t even let him explain anything, instead she just blamed Prim’s death on him because it was convenient and apparently she doesn’t think he has the right to talk. He also has a say in what happens, Katniss doesn’t get to decide everything that happens in everyone’s life, otherwise she’s being just like President Snow. Gale was just trying to help them and in doing so he accidentally killed her sister and then she gets to decide that she never wants to see him again. Alright Katniss, you won the Hunger Games twice and are the girl on fire, so all of a sudden you make the decisions for us. It doesn’t matter what we have to say, because she’ll say it for us! At least, that’s what people are letting her believe in The Hunger Games.

Alright, enough about Gale, now we’re gonna talk about Peeta.

Peeta is kind, yes, but I really feel like he just gets a bit more credit then he should. He barely actually does anything other then going along with what Katniss says. I do acknowledge that he helped her by joining the careers and everything, and saying all that stuff about loving Katniss, and marrying her, and her having a baby. But other then that most of the time he’s just wallowing in his sadness and throwing pity parties for himself because Peeta think Katniss doesn’t love him. Meanwhile Gale is out in the mines that killed his father and Katniss’s dad and still trying to feed his family of 5. I just feel like Peeta is overly sensitive and isn’t thinking about what really matters, like the rebellion, because instead he’s just thinking about how Katniss doesn’t love him. And don’t forget how much Gale and Katniss have in common, (this isn’t always a good thing), but they understand each other in a way Peeta will never understand just like Peeta will also understand Katniss in a different way from Gale, it’s not like Peeta understand everything, I mean he grew up with a full stomach all the time and although most of his food was burnt, he didn’t have to go out hunting for it and he didn’t have to starve everyday. Now I’m not saying that starving is good or anything, it’s horrible, but I’m saying that’s one thing Peeta will never fully understand. So sure Katniss, Peeta understands everything and is there when you feel like weeping, meanwhile, according to Katniss, Gale is just the guy who killed her little sister. But if you really think about it, is that even fair?

Well those are my opinions on both Gale and Peeta, and I really hope that whoever is reading this can understand that this is only what I think and everyone has different ideas and opinions. Also, if I got anything “wrong” about an event placed in the Hunger Games, I’m very sorry about that. I would also like to say that I do think that Gale has some imperfections because everyone has at least one. For example, Gale needed to just understand that Katniss was under a lot of pressure and needed to do what she had to do to win the Hunger Games so she could stay alive. I do think that Gale could be a bit stubborn about that in not understanding that Katniss needed to “be in love” so that she would be able to stay alive. Thank you for reading this and I hope this got you thinking more about Gale’s “side” of things!

Peeta and Gale

--

--

Tesla Jane Muller

Ballerina, Writer, Dreamer, Bookworm, Gyrffindor, Amity, Rosita is my love, a Phoenix is my spirit animal